Preference will be given to applications submitted by Friday, April 3, 2020. Applications received after that date will be accepted on a rolling basis until the committee meets to make its final decisions. Place all information into a large envelope with your name written on the outside. Please send your application and materials to Faith LeFebvre, Department of Communication, 825 Twenty Five Park Place, Atlanta, GA 30302-5060. Or turn in to room 800 on the 8th floor of 25 Park Place NE by 5:00 pm. 

For the highest consideration to receive these scholarships, the applicant must meet the following criteria:

  • Declared major: Print, Telecommunication, Speech, or PR
  • Minimum 3.0 GPA
  • Classification of Junior or Senior
  • Minimum of at least one semester (spring) remaining at GSU.

Applicant must also submit:

  • 3 letters of recommendation on official letterhead (one from Communication faculty)
  • a 500-word essay explaining your personal goals and interests, and why you are pursuing a career in a field related to your major.
  • Resume

*Remember to view the details of each scholarship as some requirements may vary (e.g. writing samples or an additional application)

Apply Now  For students who may be looking for additional scholarship information you may go to the Scholarship Office located in 251 Sparks Hall.


Journalism Scholarships

Awarded annually to a journalism undergraduate or graduate student in honor of George Greiff, a former journalism professor at Georgia State University.
Awarded to journalism students on the basis of scholarship, dedication to the profession, and leadership qualities. This scholarship was established by the family of the late Mildred W. Seydel, an outstanding journalist, civic leader, author, and feminist.
Established by friends to honor the memory of Terry Barker, a former journalism student and sports writer for the Gwinnett Daily News. Awarded to an outstanding journalism major specializing in news writing.
The Tom McCollister Memorial Scholarship in Journalism provides a merit-based scholarship to a student who has earned high academic standing and is majoring in Journalism, with a demonstrated interest in sports journalism.
This fund was established to honor the memory of Vicki York Fair, who was a public relations specialist for the Georgia Board of Regents. The award in her name is a tribute to Vickie’s professionalism, her sense of high ethical standards and her devotion to the profession of public relations.

It recognizes GSU’s most outstanding public relations major and awarded to a junior or senior journalism major who has demonstrated a commitment to professionalism, high ethical standards, devotion to the profession of PR, and outstanding academic achievement.
Apply Now 

Awarded annually to an outstanding junior or senior in broadcast journalism. This scholarship fund was established in honor of the late journalist Leigh Green by family, friends, and co-workers at WGCL-TV, where he worked for almost half of his career.
This scholarship was created to honor Dr. Rifkind and the positive difference that he has made in the lives of students. Awards from the scholarship provide financial support to select students majoring in Speech Communication, Dr. Rifkind’s academic area of specialization.